Software & Apps

How To Block on WhatsApp With iPhone

How To Block On Whatsapp With Iphone

WhatsApp connects you to your friends, family, and businesses. But some people can be annoying on social networks. It could be an acquaintance that doesn’t add value to your life or a marketer who won’t stop nagging you. You want nothing to do with that person. If muting their statuses is not enough, here’s how to block them on WhatsApp.

Quick Answer

To block someone on WhatsApp on iPhone, click on “Settings”. Go to “Account” then “Privacy” and scroll down to “Blocked”. Tap “Blocked” and add the contact. 

In this guide, we’ll walk you through the methods of blocking a contact on WhatsApp on iPhone. Let’s dive in!

How To Block Multiple Contacts on WhatsApp on iPhone

To block multiple contacts on WhatsApp on iPhone, follow the steps below:

  1. Open WhatsApp on your phone.
  2. Tap “Settings” at the bottom-right corner. 
  3. Go to “Account”.
  4. Click on “Privacy”.
  5. Select “Blocked”.
  6. Click on “Add New”.
  7. Tap the contact you wish to block.
  8. Click on “Add New” again to add another contact.

How To Block a Single Contact From a WhatsApp Chat on iPhone

Do as follows to block a single WhatsApp contact on your iPhone: 

  1. Open the contact’s chat.
  2. Click on the name/number.
  3. Scroll down to “Block Contact” and tap “Block this Contact”.

How To Block a Contact From the Chats Tab on WhatsApp

  1. Scroll through your chat list to the contact you want to block.
  2. Swipe left on the chat.
  3. Click on “More”.
  4. Tap “Contact Info”.
  5. Click on “Block Contact”.

You can also click on “Report Contact”, then “Report and Block” if you want to report the contact.

What Happens After You Block a Contact on WhatsApp?

The blocked contact will not see your profile picture, about, or online/last seen status. You won’t also receive their status updates. And if they try to call you, the calls will not go through. However, you’ll still see their profile picture and online status (unless they block you too).

Note that blocking a contact will not affect your previous messages or calls. But if you block and report them, WhatsApp will forward your last five messages to their support team.

Conclusion

You can block someone on iPhone WhatsApp through the Settings or Chats tab. To block multiple WhatsApp contacts, go to “Settings” > “Account” > “Privacy” > “Blocked” > “Add New”. And when blocking a single contact, open the chat, tap on the name, and scroll to the bottom to find the Block Contact option. You can also find the Block Contact option by swiping left on a chat in your Chats tab. Tap More>Contact Info>Block Contact.

Frequently Asked Questions

When you block someone on WhatsApp, will they know?

WhatsApp does not notify someone that they’ve been blocked or unblocked. So whichever method you use to block the contact, they won’t know. Unless they understand what being blocked looks like; no profile photo, about, or online/last seen status, and messages don’t get delivered.

When you block someone on WhatsApp, what do they see?

Once you block a contact on WhatsApp, they’ll see a blank canvas on your profile picture section. The only other details they can see is your number. 

And any messages they send will have a single tick (meaning sent but not delivered).

Can you block someone on WhatsApp but still text them?

You have to unblock the contact to text or call them on WhatsApp.

How to block someone on WhatsApp without opening Messages on my iPhone?

Open “Settings” > “Account” > “Privacy” > “Blocked” > “Add New”. Alternatively, you can swipe left on the chat in the Chats tab > “More” > “Contact Info” > “B lock Contact”.

Where do blocked WhatsApp messages go?

WhatsApp does not deliver messages from blocked contacts or store them. For this reason, you won’t receive the blocked messages after you unblock the contact. 

What Happens if you block someone on WhatsApp and delete their number?

Even after you delete a blocked contact, their number remains blocked on your WhatsApp account. So you’ll not receive their calls or messages.

How can I see Missed Calls from blocked numbers on WhatsApp?

You can’t see missed calls from blocked WhatsApp contacts.

What happens to Blocked Contacts when you reinstall WhatsApp?

Blocked contacts remain blocked even after you reinstall WhatsApp, as long as you’re using the same number. However, if you delete your WhatsApp account and create a new one, all your contacts will be unblocked.

How many times can you block and unblock someone on WhatsApp?

There’s no block limit on WhatsApp. You can block and unblock a contact as many times as is necessary.

Can you temporarily block someone on WhatsApp?

WhatsApp does not have a function to block someone temporarily. You can only block them and then unblock them later.

If I block someone on WhatsApp, can they still call me on my iPhone?

A blocked WhatsApp number can still call your phone offline because phone calls are independent of the WhatsApp platform.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.