Gadgets

How To Delete Groups on iPhone

How To Delete Groups On Iphone

iPhone allows people to create groups and communicate with each other through multiple apps. However, many users don’t know how to delete groups using their iPhones. 

Quick Answer

To delete groups on iPhone, open Messages, locate the group, and swipe left on it. Tap the bin icon and select the “Delete” option.

To make things easy, we have prepared a step-by-step guide on how to delete groups on iPhone. We will also discuss how to stop people from adding you to groups on WhatsApp.

Deleting Groups on iPhone

If you are wondering how to delete groups on your iPhone, our 4 step-by-step methods will help you through the entire process without any trouble. 

Method #1: Deleting Groups on Messages

You can delete groups on iPhone Messages with the help of the steps mentioned below.

  1. Launch Messages.
  2. Locate the group and swipe left on it.
  3. Tap the bin icon.
  4. Tap “Delete” on the pop-up menu.
Image 524
All Done!

After you tap “Delete”, the group will disappear from the Messages app.

Method #2: Deleting Groups on WhatsApp

If you want to delete groups you have joined on WhatsApp using your iPhone, follow these steps.

  1. Open WhatsApp on your iPhone and tap the group you want to delete. 
  2. Tap the group name on top of the screen.
  3. Scroll down and tap “Exit Group”
    Image 263
  4. Tap “Delete Group”.
Keep in Mind

On WhatsApp, only admins can delete groups. Other participants can only choose to leave it.

Method #3: Deleting Groups on Facebook Messenger

If you are using Facebook Messenger on your iPhone, you can delete groups by following the below steps. 

  1. Open Facebook Messenger on your iPhone and tap the group you want to delete. 
  2. Tap group name
  3. Tap “See group members” under “Chat info”.
  4. Tap every member and select “Remove From Group” from the pop-up menu.
    Image 264
  5. Once you have removed all the members from the group, tap your name and select “Leave Group”.

Method #4: Deleting Groups on Instagram

You can delete groups on Instagram using your iPhone in the following way.

  1. Launch Instagram, tap the paper plane icon, and open the group you want to delete.
  2. Tap the group name to go to “Details”.
  3. Tap the three-dot icon next to participants in the group.
  4. Tap “Remove from Group”
    Image 265
  5. Once you have removed all the participants, tap “Leave the group” to delete it.

Stopping Someone From Adding You to WhatsApp Groups

Not only can you delete a group on WhatsApp, but you can also stop people from adding you to one with the help of the steps mentioned below.

  1. Open WhatsApp.
  2. Tap “Settings”
  3. Tap “Account”.
  4. Tap “Privacy”.
    Image 266
  5. Tap “Groups”
  6. Select “My Contacts Except” and tap the contact of your choice.
That’s It!

Once you have done so, the selected contact will no longer be able to add you to a group on WhatsApp.

Can You Delete a Group on Snapchat?

There is no direct option to delete a group on Snapchat. However, you can do so using an indirect approach.

  1. Open Snapchat on your iPhone.
  2. Select the group you want to leave and tap on its name.
  3. Select the three dots icon.
  4. Tap “Leave Group”.
Image 525

Another way to delete a group on Snapchat is to leave a group and create a new one. 

  1. Open Snapchat on your iPhone.
  2. Tap the blue icon on the lower left corner of the screen.
  3. Tap “New Group” and select the friends you want to add. 
    Image 267
  4. Tap “Chat with Group”.

Summary

In this write-up on how to delete groups on iPhone, we have explored 4 ways to remove groups on different applications. We have also discussed the process of stopping someone from adding you to a group on WhatsApp. 

Hopefully, after reading this guide, you can quickly eliminate unwanted groups on your phone.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I join a WhatsApp group with a QR code?

To join a group on WhatsApp with a code, go to Settings, tap the QR code icon next to your name, and select “Scan”.

Can I restore deleted conversations of a group on iMessage?

Yes, if you store your data on iCloud, it can be restored. Recover the deleted conversation by factory resetting your iPhone. Turn your device back on and tap “Restore from iCloud Backup” on the “Apps & Data” screen. Enter your login credentials to sign in and choose the backup you want to install.

Can someone see if they are removed from a group chat on WhatsApp?

Yes, people can view who removed them through a small pop-up message on the group chat.

What is the difference between a Broadcast List and a group on WhatsApp?

Messages on a Broadcast List are sent privately to each participant, whereas group members get a message on a shared chat. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *