Software & Apps

How To Delete Your Match Account on a Computer

How To Delete Your Match Account On A Computer

Match is an online dating service that has been around for over two decades. So, whether you have found the love you are looking for or want to try other forms of dating, closing your account might be the next step. So, how do you delete your Match account on a computer? 

Quick Answer

Deleting your Match account on a computer is pretty straightforward. However, first, we recommend canceling your subscription if you have one. Next, navigate to your account settings and click on the “Delete” option. 

When you delete your Match account, you cannot recover it. For this reason, Match gave users the option to suspend their accounts. During this period, your account would not be visible to the public, and you can recover a suspended account anytime.

But if you don’t want to suspend your account, follow the steps in this article to delete your Match account on a computer. 

Deleting a Match Account on a Computer [Step-by-Step]

Unlike some platforms where you have to contact customer support before you can delete your account, with Match, you can delete your account yourself right from your device. You can delete your account using a PC, iPhone, or Android. However, for this article, we will be elaborating on how to delete your account with a computer. 

Step #1: Log In to Your Profile

On your computer, launch a web browser of your choice. Go to the Match web page and tap “Sign In” at the top right corner of your screen. On the next page, provide your email and password, then click “Sign in”. If you have forgotten your password or email, click on the “Forgot password” or “Forgot email” link below and follow the prompts to retrieve it. 

Step #2: Cancel Your Subscription 

When you log in to your account, you should first cancel any subscription if you have one. To cancel the subscription, tap on your settings gear at the top right corner of your screen. In the Settings menu, click on “Manage/Cancel my subscription” and follow the prompts to cancel it. Note that you must cancel your subscription at least 48 hours before its renewal date. You will be charged when your active subscription is due if you do not cancel your subscription. 

Step #3: Navigate to Your Account Settings

When you have successfully canceled your subscription, you can now proceed to delete your account. So from your Match dashboard, tap on the settings gear again and click “My Account Settings”. Scroll down, find and select “Suspend my account”

Step #4: Delete or Suspend Your Account

From the displayed options under the “Suspend my account” option, tap on “Suspend my account” if you are not sure you want to delete your account permanently. Note that when you suspend your account, you can retrieve it anytime within two years. If you do not retrieve your suspended account within two years, it will automatically be deleted, except you have a recurring subscription.

On the other hand, if you decide to delete your account, tap on the “Delete my account” option. Confirm that you want to delete your account, and your account will disappear within 24 hours

Keep in Mind

If you subscribed to Match, you can cancel your subscription and get a refund. However, subscription refunds are available on first-time subscriptions or upgrades within the first 14 days of the subscription.

Conclusion 

You can always delete your Match account from your computer. However, you must be certain you want to delete your account as this process deletes everything, including messages and your general information. Deleting your account will also delete the messages you send to other users from their devices. So, deleting your account takes you off the network. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

What happens to my profile picture and information when I delete my Match account? 

When you delete your Match profile, Match will delete your profile picture and information. Match would no longer display you are a potential match to other users. Match would delete even messages you sent back and forth with other users. And if you ever decide to register on the platform another time, it would seem as though you were a new user. In other words, it would seem as though you were never on the platform in the first place. 

Do I need to unsubscribe my email from Match? 

When you delete your account, it is entirely your choice to unsubscribe your email from Match. When you delete your account from Match, other than the confirmation of your cancellation, you will no longer receive any email from Match. You will not even receive any email from Match concerning promotions, news, or upcoming events. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *