Software & Apps

How To Find Out Who Blocked Me on TikTok

Tiktok App

TikTok is one of the widely used video-sharing platforms. And like most social media platforms, TikTok allows users to block other users they don’t want to interact with. However, TikTok will not send you a notification when a user blocks you. So, how do you know when someone blocks you on TikTok? 

Quick Answer

You can try several tricks to tell if a user has blocked you on TikTok. Firstly, you can check if the accounts you follow are still included in your list. Secondly, check the messages and comments you and the user had if they are still there. And finally, you can try following the user, and if you can’t, it’s because you’ve been blocked. 

Like with most social media platforms, when another user has blocked you, you wouldn’t be able to communicate with them. So unless the user wants to talk to you, there’s no way of contacting them on TikTok. However, the user can also unblock you by navigating to their profile > “Settings”> “Privacy”> “Blocked Accounts”.

Continue reading this article to learn more about how to find out when a user blocks you on TikTok. 

Different Ways To Find Out Who Blocked You on TikTok

It’s hard to tell when a user blocks you on TikTok, except you both had a very close relationship with the user. Otherwise, TikTok would not notify you that a user has blocked you. So, all you can do is suspect if an account has blocked you, as they will no longer appear on your feed. 

Nevertheless, there are a few tricks you can use to tell with certainty if a user has blocked you on TikTok. Below, we elaborate on three methods you can use to determine if a user has blocked you on TikTok.

Method #1: Check the Following List

The first method we’d be looking into is the following list. On TikTok, you can follow users and can be followed back in return. If you suspect a user you follow on TikTok blocked you, then checking the following list is a great place to start.   

Here’s how to use the following list to know if you were blocked on TikTok.

  1. Launch the TikTok app on your smartphone.
  2. Tap on the profile icon at the bottom right corner of your screen. 
  3. In the “Profile” section, tap on the “Following” option.
  4. Search for the user from the list; if you can’t find them on the list and you’re sure you didn’t unfollow the user, then it means they blocked your account.

Method #2: Check Messages and Comments

Another way to check if a user blocked you on TikTok is to check the message and comments section. This method is a little more tasking, but it’s another great way to tell if someone has blocked you. However, for this method to work, you and the user must have been friends prior and must have sent messages and commented on their video posts

Here’s how to use messages and comments to know if you were blocked on TikTok.

  1. Launch the TikTok app on your smartphone.
  2. Tap on the “Inbox” tab at the bottom right corner of your screen, next to the profile icon
  3. In the “Inbox” tab, tap on the “All Activity” option at the top of your screen and select comment or mention from the drop-down list. 
  4. If you can’t view the video, there’s a chance you’ve been blocked.  
  5. If you tap on “Messages” and can’t view direct messages sent between you and the user, it indicates that the user has blocked you. 

Method #3: Try Following the User

If you’re still not convinced and want to try other tricks to know whether the user blocked you, then you should try following them on TikTok. For this method to work, you must know the user’s username. Since you and the user are friends, you must already follow the user. 

Here’s how to try following a user to know if you were blocked on TikTok.

  1. Launch the TikTok app on your smartphone. 
  2. Tap on the “Discover” page at the bottom left corner of your screen, next to the home icon
  3. In the search box, type the username of the user. 
  4. On the user tab in the search result, find the user in question and click the “Follow” button. 
  5. If you get a report that you can’t follow this account, then it’s because the user blocked you. 
Keep in Mind

There is no section on TikTok where you can go to view all the users that blocked you. However, there’s a section where you can view a list of all the contacts you blocked.

Conclusion

If a user blocks you on TikTok, there isn’t much you can do as all communications you might have with that TikTok account will be terminated. So, except if you know the user personally and can talk to them to unblock you, or you have a mutual friend you can appeal to, there’s no other way to get unblocked. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the difference between removing and blocking on TikTok? 

When you remove someone on TikTok, it is more like you unfollow the user. However, when you block someone on TikTok, they wouldn’t be able to view your profile or contact you. So, you wouldn’t get updates on whatever content they post. 

Can someone report my account if blocked? 

When you block someone on TikTok, they can still report your account. However, you have nothing to worry about, as TikTok will not ban your account if you do nothing wrong. TikTok will always verify every information provided to them, and if your action violates the community guidelines, they will ban your account. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *