Gadgets

How To Leave a Chat on iPhone

How To Leave A Chat On Iphone 1

A group chat is a great way to converse with multiple people simultaneously. But sometimes, the notifications from multiple conversations can be annoying. If you no longer want to be a group member or receive notification from it, you should leave the chat. But how do you leave a group text on your iPhone? 

Quick Answer

To leave a chat conversation on the Messages app, tap on the conversation and then click on the top header. You should see an option to leave the conversation in the new windows. This step works on most chat groups like Facebook, WhatsApp, Telegram, etc. 

If you are having issues leaving an iMessage group chat, it could be because not everyone in the group is an Apple user. Similarly, if you can’t leave an SMS or MMS group chat, it could be because there are not at least three people in the group, all of whom are Apple users.

Keep reading to learn more about leaving a chat on an iPhone. 

Steps To Leave a Chat on iPhone

The iMessage group chat has a limit of 32 persons in a group. If you find yourself in a conversation with up to 32 people, and they are all sending messages to each other in the chat, it can leave your phone buzzing with notifications. In such a case, if the group is no longer relevant to you, then you can leave the chat using these easy steps below. 

Step #1: Launch the Messages App 

Launch the Messages app by tapping on the Messages app icon on the homepage of your iPhone. If you can’t find the Messages app on the homepage, swipe left past all the apps on the home screen to get to the App Library, then scroll up to browse the alphabetical list of apps. Or, better still, use the search field to find the app quickly. 

Step #2: Tap on a Conversation

In the Messages app, find the conversation you want to leave. Note that you can only leave a chat with more than three people. If there are only three people in the group, you will not be able to leave the chat because it will become a two-person conversation, which is no longer a group chat. And if you want to leave multiple conversations, you must do so individually. 

Step #3: Tap on the Info Icon or Chat Name

Tap on the top header in the conversation window. You can tap on the users’ image or the number of people in the group at the top header of the conversation. When you do, there will be a drop-down option with different icons. Tap on the info icon to see more info about the conversation.  

Step #4: Leave the Group Chat

In the info menu of that conversation, you find the “Leave this conversation” option. In this menu, any changes you make will only influence that particular chat. So, when you see the “Leave this conversation” option, tap on it to leave the group. If there are other groups you want to leave as well, repeat the procedure until you are done leaving all the groups. 

Quick Tip

Alternatively, if you don’t want to leave the group for good, you can always mute the conversation notification.

Conclusion 

Summarily, you should leave a group chat only when you must leave, as the process is irreversible. You will not be able to rejoin the group unless you request permission to be added again. 

Also, note that when you leave a conversation, it does not delete all the past conversations you’ve had in the group. If you want to do away with the messages, swipe left and tap on the trash icon to delete them. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

How can you tell if everyone in an iMessage group chat is an iPhone user? 

The iMessage is a feature for iOS devices, including iPhones and iPads. You can tell if everyone in an iMessage group is an iOS user with the color of the bubble that appears with their chat. If your text bubbles are blue while other users in the conversation are gray, then all users in the group chat are iPhone users. But if there are users in the conversation using other operating systems, such as an Android device, your text messages will be green bubbles

Would other users be notified when you leave a conversation on iMessage? 

Unfortunately, if you leave a conversation on an iPhone, other users will be notified when you click the exit button. However, if you don’t want anyone to know you left the chat, you should mute the conversation instead. By doing this, no user in the group will get notified, and you will not have to deal with buzzing notifications from the chat. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.