If you’re wondering how you can see missed calls from a number you’ve blocked on your iPhone, we’ve got some bad news for you. Unfortunately, it’s impossible to be notified about a missed call from a number on your block list. Luckily, you can still see the people you’ve blocked.
To view your blocked contacts, go to Settings > “Phone“. On the next screen, tap “Blocked Contacts“, and you’ll get a list of numbers or emails you’ve blocked. Apart from the Phone app, you can also see your blocked contacts in Mail, FaceTime, and Messages.
Let’s take a closer look at why you want to block calls and how you can view who you’ve blocked in different apps.
What Happens When You Block Someone?
The blocking feature can come in handy in several scenarios. For instance, you might be tired of continuous spam calls from telemarketers or people you don’t know. Or it can help you block your ex so you can finally move on without allowing them to get in touch with you.
With the blocking feature, you can block contacts you already have stored on your iPhone and those that you haven’t saved. In the case of the latter, you can just block their email address or phone number, whichever they used to contact you.
Once you block someone on the iPhone, they won’t be able to contact you. Your phone won’t notify you if they send a message, and it won’t ring when they call you. In fact, you won’t get to know they’re calling at all. For the other person, their call goes straight to voicemail instead of showing on your phone. If they decide to leave a voicemail, it’ll be hidden in the Phone app, and you won’t receive any notification.
But that also means you won’t be able to see the missed call history. Even if you open the Phone app, you won’t be able to see calls from blocked someone. The only thing you can get to know is the numbers you’ve blocked by looking at the blocked contacts in the Phone app.
How To See Blocked Contacts on iPhone
Accessing your blocked contacts on your iPhone is very easy, but the exact steps depend on whether you’re looking for blocked contacts in Phone, Mail, FaceTime, or Messages.
- Go to Settings.
- Find “Phone” and tap it.
- Tap “Blocked Contacts” under the “Call” section to open up a list of contacts you’ve blocked.
FaceTime communications, texts, and calls cease when you block someone on the iPhone. But if the person you’re blocking uses a different FaceTime address, you’ll find the contact under FaceTime. Here’s how you can access that.
- Open Settings.
- Scroll down, find “FaceTime” from the list, and tap it.
- Under the “Calls” section, tap “Blocked Contacts” to see the list of emails and numbers you’ve blocked.
The way to access blocked contact in Messages is similar to the previous methods. Here’s what you have to do.
- Open Settings.
- Go to “Messages“.
- In the “SMS/MMS” section, you’ll find an option that says “Blocked Contacts“. Select it to see the list of people you’ve blocked.
Finally, follow these steps to see the contacts you’ve blocked in Mail.
- Go to Settings.
- From the available options, find and select “Mail“.
- Go to the “Threading” section.
- Find “Blocked” and tap it to see all your blocked email contacts.
That pretty much sums it up. While you can’t see blocked calls on the iPhone, you can see who you’ve blocked by going to Settings and then to the respective app. Then, you’ll see an option to see who you’ve blocked. So if you accidentally blocked someone you might know, you can quickly check that in “Blocked Contacts” and unblock them so they can contact you quickly.
Frequently Asked Questions
Blocked calls go straight to voicemail. So if the caller leaves a message, you can find it in the “Voicemail” option by going to Settings > “Phone“.
It’s impossible to know they’re calling, especially since nothing happens on your end.
Once you block someone, they can’t leave any message, whether that’s an SMS, an MMS, or an iMessage. So if they’re already blocked, you won’t be able to see messages, but you can still receive messages from them by unblocking them.