Gadgets

How To Stop Sharing Photos on iPhone

Photos On Iphone

Apple has developed one of the most outstanding operating systems for their devices, and people love it for its amazing features. But, some features are not suitable for people and create more problems for them; one is the auto photo sharing on iPhone. It could be inconvenient for some people because of privacy issues. So, most people want to know how to stop sharing photos on their iPhones.

Quick Answer

You can stop your iPhone from sharing photos on iCloud by going into Settings, spotting the Photos app, and then clicking it. Here you will have to turn off the “iCloud Photos” option, and it will immediately stop sharing your new photos on other devices running on the same Apple ID.

This is the most simple solution for auto photo sharing on iPhone. But, if you want to stop sharing photos with someone with whom you have shared the photos in the past, then the following is a complete guide for you. 

What Is the “Sharing Photos” Feature on iPhone?

There are two types of photo-sharing features on the iPhone. The first one is iCloud’s photo-sharing feature which automatically shares your photos on iCloud; then, they show up on other Apple devices running with the same Apple ID.

The second is the Family Sharing feature that allows you to automatically share your photo albums with someone else by adding them. This feature automatically shares your photos or albums with that person.

So, which feature do you want to turn off and stop sharing your photos on your iPhone? Let’s discuss how you can turn off both features step by step. This would be helpful for anyone looking to stop sharing their photos, whether they are using the first or second feature.

How To Stop Sharing Photos on iPhone

The following are two methods to stop sharing your photos on your iPhone.

Method #1: Turn Off iCloud Photo Sharing

If you are sick of iCloud’s auto photo-sharing feature across your devices, follow the steps below.

  1. Open the Settings > “Photos“.
  2. Once you find the app, click it and look for the “iCloud Photos” feature.
  3. Turn it off by clicking on the toggle.

This will immediately stop sharing your photos across your other devices.

Method #2: Stop Sharing Photos With Someone Else on iPhone

Sometimes you have been added to a Family Sharing group on your iPhone, and it automatically shares your photos with the group. Apple created this feature to help families shares their memories with each other without wasting a single second. 

But, if you no longer need to share your photos with the family or you want to stop sharing photos with someone else with whom you have shared an album in the past, then here are the steps you can follow.

  1. Go to Settings and click on your name at the top of the list.
  2. Scroll down and click the “Family Sharing” option. It will open the list of your family or members sharing pictures with each other.
  3. Click your name.
  4. This will open a list of options, and you must select “Stop Using Family Sharing“.

This will immediately stop sharing your photos with other family members.

Conclusion

This is how you can stop automatically sharing photos on your iPhone or iOS device. I hope these methods will be helpful for you in maintaining your privacy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I delete shared photos on my iPhone?

If you have added someone to the Family Sharing feature and now you want to delete already shared photos, that won’t be possible. Once you have shared a photo with someone, you can’t delete it. When you share a photo with someone, it goes directly to their Photos app, and if their iCloud is enabled, it will be automatically stored there. 

What do I do if my iPhone’s photos are showing on my iPad?

In this situation, you will have to turn off the iCloud Photo feature on your iPhone immediately. Go to Settings, scroll down, click on “Photos“, and then turn off the iCloud Photos’ green toggle. 

This will stop uploading your photos to your iCloud, and as a result, they will not show on your iPad. Still, the older pictures will be shown on your iPad. If you don’t want those old photos on your iPad, you will have to delete them from your iCloud; they will disappear from any device.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.