Gadgets

How To Turn Off Read Receipts on Android

Read Receipts On Android

The read receipt feature on your device lets you know when others have read your messages and vice versa; it is a convenient but double-edged sword. Although it can be annoying to get frequent notifications that the recipient has received and read your messages, it prevents the sender from knowing if you have received or read their messages. 

Quick Answer

To turn off the read receipt in the default messaging app on your Android, open Settings from the Message app. Similarly, if you want to turn off read receipt on another third-party messaging app like WhatsApp, you’d have to go to the Settings option in the app

Turning off the read receipt option is a valuable feature that helps enhance your privacy. However, whether you want people to know when you read their messages or not, this article covers how to manage the read receipt feature. 

Steps To Turn Off Read Receipt on Android 

The process is similar whether you want to turn off the read receipt on your Android device or a third-party messaging app. Moreover, be aware that the read receipt function only works on your device when both parties use the same software. 

Method #1: Turn Off Read Receipts on Message App 

Today, most Android devices come shipped from their manufacturer with the Google messaging app as its default SMS. Although this does not mean you can’t change your default messaging app if you want to. You can change the messaging app to any other one you desire, but the read receipt feature only works when both parties use the same software. 

For example, if user A uses the Google Message app and user B uses Truecaller (another messaging app), the read receipt would not work. Users A and B must be using either the Google Messaging app or Truecaller as the case may be to use the read receipt feature. 

Here’s how to turn off the read receipt on the Google Message app.

  1. Open the Message app from your Android device’s home screen or menu. 
  2. Tap your Gmail profile picture at the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Click “Message Settings“.
  4. Tap “General“, and then click “Chat Features“.
  5. Toggle off the “Send Read Receipt” option in the settings to turn off the read receipt.

Method #2: Turn Off Read Receipts on Third-Party App 

Enabling or disabling read receipts is not limited to the Android’s Message app. Several other messaging apps with this feature come in quite handy. For example, the WhatsApp mobile app, Telegram, and so on are instant messaging apps with the read receipt feature. 

You can turn off the read receipt feature if you do not want someone on your contact list to know when you read their message. However, disabling this feature on a third-party app like WhatsApp differs from using the default messaging app. 

Here’s how to turn off the read receipt third-party messaging app.

  1. Open WhatsApp on your Android device.
  2. Tap on the three-dot icon at the top-right corner of your screen and select Settings.
  3. Click “Accounts“.
  4. Select “Privacy“.
  5. Toggle the “Read Receipts” option to turn off the read receipt. 
Keep in Mind

Read receipts work in two ways; if you turn them on, you and your recipient can see when they read your message, and if you turn it off, you and your recipient can’t view each other’s read receipt.

Conclusion 

In conclusion, turning off the read receipt is a feature that helps enhance users’ privacy. So, feel free to turn off the read receipt on your device and read whatever message you want. And if you wish to, you can reply or not, without the sender knowing you have read the message. 

Frequently Asked Question 

How can I tell if someone disabled their read receipts?

Usually, when you send a text message to someone using the Message app on Android, there used to be two check marks; a regular check and a stroke underneath it. If someone has their read receipt disabled within the chat settings in the Message app, it will not double-check.  

Does one tick on a messaging app like WhatsApp mean I’ve been blocked? 

When you send a message to someone via a messaging app like WhatsApp but get only one tick, this does not necessarily mean you have been blocked. There are various reasons for this, such as network troubles or the unavailability of a data connection

The best you can do is wait a while; perhaps you might get the second tick. But if, in addition to the one tick, you can’t view the person’s profile picture or about, then it is most likely you have been blocked.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.