Gadgets

What Does Resetting Your iPhone Do?

Iphone Reset

If you are experiencing issues with your iPhone, such as glitching or freezing, resetting it may likely solve the problem. There are several other scenarios where resetting your iPhone is a viable solution. But what changes when you tap the “Reset” option on your iPhone? 

Quick Answer

If you reset your iPhone, it will delete all your data and change the settings to defaults. Or better still, resetting your iPhone restores it to how it was when you first bought the device. 

Before you go ahead to press that reset button on your iPhone, it is essential that you backup all your data. Once you click that reset button, there is no going back as it will delete all your personal data.

This guide will enumerate more on what you should know about resetting your iPhone. 

What Happens When You Reset Your iPhone? 

Resetting your iPhone takes it back to the basics it came with; no picture, password, or customized settings. Essentially, two things happen when you tap the “Reset” option on your iPhone.

Delete Personal Data 

When you reset your iPhone, it deletes all your personal information. Hence, data like your pictures, playlist, call records, keyboard dictionary, and even installed applications will all be deleted. However, you can use the iTunes app on a PC to backup all your personal data before you reset it.  

Restore Your iPhone to Factory Settings 

Another thing that happens when you reset your iPhone is that it restores your iPhone to factory settings. When the reset is completed, all settings, including permissions granted to apps, and preferences, will all be removed. This means things like saved networks, customized settings, and so on will all be cleared. 

What Does the Reset Options on Your iPhone Mean? 

When you go to your iPhone’s Settings > “General”> “Reset” page, you will see six categories of reset options. This mix of options is handy when you want to reset something specific and not completely erase all the data on your iPhone. 

Option #1: Reset All Settings 

When you use this reset option, it only erases your iPhone’s settings data. Contents like your music, videos, documents, and applications are not deleted. In other words, the other content of your iPhone remains intact. 

Here are some of what this option deletes on your iPhone.

  • Erases all your network settings.
  • Erases keyboard dictionary.
  • Removes preferences and permissions on apps.
  • Erases privacy settings.
  • Erases location settings
  • Erases Apple Pay cards.

Option #2: Erase All Content and Settings

This option is ideal when you want to wipe all the data on your iPhone. Using this option deletes everything on your iPhone. 

Here are some of what this option deletes on your iPhone.

  • This reset option deletes media from your iPhone.
  • Erases all your network settings.
  • Erases keyboard dictionary.
  • Removes preferences and permissions on apps. 
  • Erases privacy settings
  • Erases location settings
  • Erases Apple Pay cards

Option #3: Reset Network Settings

When you use this option, it only resets your network back to how they were from the factory. Hence, when you use this option, it does not delete your media or other customized settings other than network settings.  

Here are some of what this option will delete on your iPhone.

  • Reset device name back to iPhone.
  • Changes manually trusted certificates to “untrusted“. 
  • May turn off cellular data roaming. 
  • VPN settings that weren’t installed by a configuration profile or MDM will be removed. 
  • It will disconnect you from all Wi-Fi networks, and the “Ask To Join Networks” settings will remain turned on. 
Quick Tip

If you want to remove VPN or network settings installed by a configuration profile or MDM, open your iPhone’s Settings, go to “General”, and click the “Profile & Device Management” option. In the configuration or management profile, tap the profile you want to remove and select “Remove Profile”.

Option #4: Reset Keyboard Dictionary

The iPhone keyboard learns from its user’s typing habits. Hence, as you type, the keyboard dictionary makes suggestions based on your frequently used words and how you use them.

But if things get awry and the dictionary starts making weird suggestions or corrections, then using the “Reset Keyboard Dictionary” option will become helpful. This option only erases words you add to the keyboard dictionary.

Option #5: Reset Home Screen Layout 

Sometimes apps may be missing on your iPhone home screen, or many apps may be scattered across the different home screens. It’s even worse when you use an iOS 13 or iOS 14, as there is no way to rearrange screens. The option “Reset Home Screen Layout” makes more sense in such scenarios. This will not delete or affect your apps’ data in any way. 

Here’s what this option erases from your iPhone.

  • Returns built-in apps to their original layout on your home screen.
  • This reset option will delete manually added widgets.
  • Hidden home screen pages will be visible.
  • Apps folders created will be removed. 

Option #6: Reset Location & Privacy 

If you are worried that too many apps have access to your location and privacy data, you can use this option to reset it. When you use this option, all apps that use the location service will have to ask for permissions the next time they need it. 

This option revokes the permission all apps have to access your location. 

Conclusion 

Resetting your iPhone is a valuable feature that helps your settings back to factory default. The reset feature can help fix issues on your iPhone. You can as well reset your iPhone to get rid of personal data when you want to sell it or pass it on to someone else. It might also interest you that there are different ways to reset your iPhone. You can either use your iPhone to perform a soft and hard reset or use iTunes and a PC to reset your iPhone.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.