GadgetsSmart PhonesAndroid

What Does “Syncing” Mean on Android?

What Does Syncing Mean On Android

There can be times when you have stored many vital data on your Android phone, and the data might be anything from pictures to essential documents. This is where the backup feature comes in.

You can re-access your data if it gets deleted from your phone by creating a backup. However, many people don’t know about the sync feature and how it can save them time. Today, we will discuss what syncing means on Android. 

Quick Answer

Syncing on Android means synchronizing the data on your phone with a cloud server. On Android devices, the information usually gets synchronized with the Google account. In other words, the sync feature sends all of your essential data to a cloud server and creates a backup.

How the Sync Feature Has Changed the Backup Process

A few years ago, to backup your Android phone, you had to connect it to a computer by using a cable physically. Or, if you wanted to transfer data from one phone to another, you had to link it with the second phone using Bluetooth. This process was pretty time-consuming, and it was even annoying at times. On other devices, Bluetooth may also disconnect itself during a transfer, forcing people to repeat the entire process.

Today, technology has significantly advanced, and people have ditched the traditional way of backing up Android devices. Thanks to the sync feature, your data will automatically get stored in a cloud server, and you don’t have to worry about losing it again.

Difference Between Auto-Sync and Manual Sync 

At the moment, there are two sync options available for every Android user. The first one is auto-sync. When this feature is turned on, your data is automatically sent to the cloud server when your phone is online. 

The second one is manual sync, and as its name suggests, you have to upload the data to the cloud server manually. You should keep the auto-sync feature enabled as you can sometimes forget to upload vital data manually.

Thanks to the auto-sync feature, if your phone gets stolen or the data gets wiped, you will always have a backup.

How To Turn On Auto-Sync on Android 

Turning on the sync feature in an Android phone is pretty simple, and it will hardly take you a minute to do it. You can turn it on by following the steps mentioned below. 

  1. Go to the Settings of your Android phone.
  2. Scroll down and tap on “Users and Accounts“.
  3. If you have more than one account running on your device, select the account you want to sync the data.
  4. Tap on “Account Sync” and turn on auto-sync.

The phone will automatically send your data to the Google cloud server as long as it is connected to the internet. 

How To Sync Contacts on Android 

To sync your contacts from your Android phone with your Google account, you must follow these steps.

  1. Open the Settings on your phone.
  2. Find and tap on “Google“.
  3. Tap on “Google Contacts Sync“.
  4. Turn on “Auto-Sync“.

Once done, the device will sync all your contacts to your Google account. With the auto-sync feature turned on, any new contact you will save on your device will automatically get saved in the cloud server. 

Conclusion 

This was all you needed to know about what syncing means on Android. As you can see for yourself, it is a pretty fantastic feature and can help you protect your data. Always make sure to turn on the auto-sync option to prevent data loss. But if you have the manual sync turned on for some reason, always remember to perform a sync once every two to three days. 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Is the sync feature safe?

Yes, the sync feature is entirely safe. It will save all your essential data in a cloud server, which will be safe and secure. Furthermore, your data will be private, and only you can access it.

Is auto-sync better than manual sync?

Yes, the auto-sync option is better than the manual sync option. When you save something on your phone, you might not always remember to upload it to the cloud server manually. This means that with the manual sync option enabled, there will always be a chance for you to lose your data. Meanwhile, the auto-sync feature will automatically backup your data. You have to make sure that your device is connected to the internet.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *