Gadgets

What Is the Yellow Dot on My iPhone?

Iphone Yellow Dot

Apple’s iOS 14 update for both the iPhones and the iPads came with numerous privacy features, including a yellow dot appearing on top of the screen. If you’re seeing this dot, you don’t need to worry – there’s nothing wrong with your phone, and there’s no bug.

Quick Answer

It’s a security feature that lets you know when your microphone is accessed. The yellow dot on the iPhone means an app can access your microphone. This can be any app that allows you to speak to others. So, you will see this when you’re on a call or using an app that allows you to record yourself. 

In this article, we’ll talk more about the yellow dot on the iPhone, how it can help with privacy, and how you can get rid of it

What Is the Yellow Dot on the iPhone?

iOS 14 came with numerous privacy features also included in iPhones operating on iOS 15 onwards. One such feature is the access indicators that inform users when their phone’s microphone or camera is being used. These indicators help ensure user privacy.

There are two kinds of indicators – orange/yellow and green. If you see a yellow dot, that means an app you’re using has access to the microphone. This includes apps that use a mic to let you speak to others (like the Phone app) and apps that allow you to record your voice. The yellow/orange dot will only appear when the app uses the microphone.  

Meanwhile, a green dot means your device’s camera is being used. The green dot will appear even if you’re using an app that uses the device’s camera, like Snapchat.

However, if you use an app that needs both the camera and the microphone, like for a FaceTime video call, you’ll see a green dot near the status icons like the battery and signal strength. But when you turn off the camera during the call, you’ll notice that the green dot will change to yellow, which means at that instance, the app is only using the microphone. 

These access indicators are beneficial, mainly since they help you identify rogue apps. Some third-party apps use the camera and the microphone as soon as you open them. This feature lets you know when the app actively uses the camera and mic, so your privacy isn’t compromised. Plus, once you know that the camera and mic are being used, you can easily revoke access to the app if you don’t trust it.

Is It Possible To Know Which App Is Using the Microphone?

You can quickly figure out if you’re seeing a yellow dot and don’t know which app is responsible for it. Just swipe down from the top-right to open the Control Center. At the center on the top, you’ll see an orange circle with the mic icon inside. Besides this, you’ll see the app’s name currently using the microphone. 

If you have an iPhone with a Touch ID, you’ll have to swipe up from the bottom of the screen to open the Control Center. 

How To Remove Yellow Dot on iPhone

As mentioned above, the yellow dot is a privacy feature embedded into the iOS system. This means there’s no way to entirely eliminate the yellow dot from your screen. The only thing you can do to stop seeing it is to prevent the app from using your phone’s mic. You can easily do that by closing the app and swiping it away from the app drawer. As soon as you dismiss the app, the yellow dot will disappear.

In case there’s a rogue app, or if you see a yellow dot when using an app that shouldn’t have access to your microphone, you can revoke access. To do so, follow these steps.

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Go to “Privacy”.
  3. Tap “Microphone”.
  4. Turn off the toggle next to the app responsible for the yellow dot.    

You’ll no longer see the yellow dot.

Conclusion 

The yellow dot is a great privacy feature that helps you determine when an app can access the microphone (and is listening in). And since it’s built into iOS, there’s no way that apps can get around it. So, you don’t need to worry about it. And if you see the yellow dot when using an app or service that shouldn’t use your microphone, you can easily strip off the access and ensure your privacy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.