Texting through iMessages is a popular means of communication as it allows iPhone users to stay in touch without necessarily needing to meet in person. But after a misunderstanding, someone might decide to block you on your iPhone. They will no longer receive your texts when this happens, and there’ll be no more communication until they unblock you.
After discovering someone has blocked you, there are a few easy tricks you can follow to bypass this issue. This way, you can still communicate with them and try to resolve whatever issue that might have led to this point.
This guide will also cover how to figure out if someone has blocked you on their iPhone.
How Can You Text Someone Who’s Blocked You on iPhone’s iMessage?
If someone has blocked you on iMessage, it’s impossible to bypass because the platform obstructs your email address or contact. Consequently, your text gets discreetly discarded on the recipient’s iPhone.
Because iMessage blocking happens on the user end, you can’t bypass it. However, you can still send a text to someone who’s blocked you on an iPhone by changing your caller ID. And to do that, here are the steps you should follow:
- Open the Settings on your iPhone.
- Go to iMessages.
- Click on “Send and Receive.”
- Locate the “You can be reached by iMessage at” option and click on it.
- Click on “Add another email” and enter your new email address.
- Confirm your email as soon as possible.
- Click on “Start New Conversations” after confirming your new email address.
This trick will enable you to text the blocked number through iMessage because it’s your previous email address that was blocked and not this newly confirmed email.
How Do You Know if You’ve Been Blocked on an iPhone?
Before you even start trying to text someone who has blocked you on your iPhone, it’s best first to find out whether you’ve been blocked in the first place because you don’t usually get notified when someone blocks you.
Here are the different ways you can find out whether or not you’ve been blocked on an iPhone:
You Get an Automated Message
If you’ve sent someone a text and subsequently received an automated response, don’t worry, you’re not blocked. Automated responses can only be generated for numbers that haven’t been blocked on a person’s iPhone.
However, you should be concerned if you don’t get an automated response which usually means a person has switched on the Do Not Disturb mode.
Your Message Doesn’t Get Delivered
One thing to check for is whether or not your message has been delivered. If, after sending the message, it doesn’t show “Delivered” below the text bubble, the recipient may have blocked you. This means you also can’t see the “Read Receipts” that pop up in your message thread.
However, it’s important to check that the delivery notice isn’t switched off by default, in which case, you wouldn’t be able to see the small grey “Delivered” notification.
You Get the “iMessage Not Delivered” Error
Another way to know that someone has blocked you is if you get an “iMessage Not Delivered” error below the text bubble. When this happens, enable SMS texts on your iPhone. That will prompt your device to try and use your cellular data to send a text message.
You can also retry sending the text manually rather than through iMessage. If you still can’t send a text, it is a clear indication you’ve been blocked.
In today’s technologically driven world, communicating is easier than ever. However, you can also restrict certain people from contacting you from their iPhones by simply pressing one or two buttons.
When someone does this to you, it becomes impossible to reach out to them. But after reading this guide, you have a helpful trick on how to dodge this and still send them a message through your iPhone. You’re also aware of the signs to look out for to know if someone has indeed blocked you on their iPhone.
Frequently Asked Questions
No, they aren’t, and the person can still reach out to you through third-party apps because they aren’t usually affected. Therefore, you’ll also need to block them on the third-party app, or they’ll be able to contact you using those communication platforms.
Yes, you can still text someone after they’ve blocked you on their iPhone. However, they won’t receive your text message on their phone. Instead, all your texts will be sent to their iCloud account.